Carabao Cup

Carabao Cup 2022-23:Fixtures round draws revealed

Jurgen Klopp Liverpool Carabao Cup trophy 2021-22

Everything you need to know about the League Cup – draw, games and more

The Carabao Cup returns for its 63rd season in 2022-23 as 92 teams from the English football pyramid battle it out for silverware.


Liverpool are defending champions and will have designs on retaining the trophy, but they will face plenty of competition too. Clubs from the Premier League down to League One take part in the competition, which begins in August and concludes in February.

GOAL has all the details about the 2022-23 edition, including draw information, fixtures, dates, results and more.

Carabao Cup first round draw

The first round of the Carabao Cup is divided into two sections: north and south.

Twenty-two teams from Championship are joined by 24 teams from League One and 24 teams from League Two. Games will be played on the week commencing August 8.

The draw was conducted by Clinton Morrison and Michael Dawson.

North section

w/c August 8Blackburn Rovers vs Hartlepool
w/c August 8Harrogate vs Stockport
w/c August 8Bolton vs Salford
w/c August 8Morecambe vs Stoke
w/c August 8Blackpool vs Barrow
w/c August 8West Brom vs Sheffield Utd
w/c August 8Sheffield Wednesday vs Sunderland
w/c August 8Grimsby vs Crewe
w/c August 8Mansfield vs Derby
w/c August 8Accrington Stanley vs Tranmere
w/c August 8Middlesbrough vs Barnsley
w/c August 8Bradford vs Hull
w/c August 8Rochdale vs Burton
w/c August 8Doncaster vs Lincoln
w/c August 8Shrewsbury vs Carlisle United
w/c August 8Huddersfield vs Preston
w/c August 8Port Vale vs Rotherham
w/c August 8Fleetwood Town vs Wigan

South section

w/c August 8Norwich vs Birmingham
w/c August 8Coventry vs Bristol City
w/c August 8Northampton vs Wycombe
w/c August 8Cardiff vs Portsmouth
w/c August 8Charlton vs QPR
w/c August 8Crawley vs Bristol Rovers
w/c August 8Walsall vs Swindon
w/c August 8Ipswich vs Colchester
w/c August 8Luton vs Newport
w/c August 8Reading vs Stevenage
w/c August 8Plymouth vs Peterborough
w/c August 8Wimbledon vs Gillingham
w/c August 8Cheltenham vs Exeter
w/c August 8MK Dons vs Sutton United
w/c August 8Forest Green Rovers vs Leyton Orient
w/c August 8Cambridge United vs Millwall
w/c August 8Oxford United vs Swansea City

Carabao Cup TV channel & live stream

Sky Sports has the rights to broadcast Carabao Cup games in the UK. Matches are usually shown on Sky Sports Football and available to stream live online using the Sky Go facility.

In the U.S., Carabao Cup games are broadcast on the ESPN network.

When is the Carabao Cup 2022-23 final?

The 2022-23 Carabao Cup final is scheduled for Sunday February 26, 2023.

It will be held at Wembley Stadium, London, which is the traditional venue for national cup finals in England.

Carabao Cup 2022-23 dates

The 2022-23 Carabao Cup kicks off on the week commencing August 8, 2022 and will conclude on February 26, 2023.

You can see the complete round dates and number of games in the table below.

First round35w/c August 8
Second round25w/c August 22
Third round16w/c November 7
Fourth round8w/c December 19
Quarter-finals4w/c January 9
Semi-finals4 (2 legs)w/c January 23 / 30
Final1February 26, 2023

Who won the Carabao Cup last season?

Liverpool won the Carabao Cup in 2021-22. The Reds defeated Chelsea 11-10 on penalties after the game finished 0-0 in regulation and extra time.

Jurgen Klopp’s side clinched silverware after Caoimhin Kelleher scored their 11th spot kick and Kepa Arrizabalaga missed Chelsea’s 11th penalty.

The victory sealed Liverpool’s ninth League Cup trophy, making them the single most successful team in the history of the competition.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker